If you like Alex Rider . . .

Quantum Prophecy / Michael Carroll

Ten years after the disappearance of superhumans--both heroes and villains--thirteen-year-olds Danny and Colin begin to develop super powers, making them the object of much unwanted attention. First book in series - The Awakening / Michael Carroll

Seven Realms novels / Cinda Chima Williams

The Seven Realms will tremble when the lives of Han and Raisa collide in this stunning page-turner from best-selling author Cinda Williams Chima.  First book in series - The Demon King / Cinda Williams Chima

Mickey Bolitar series / Harlan Coben

Not all adult writers can write for young adults, but Coben is one to watch!  Following the nephew of popular adult detective Myron Bolitar, this series has it all - excellent plotting, good characters and lots of action!  First book in series - Shelter : a Mickey Bolitar novel / Harlan Coben

Artemis Fowl series / Eoin Colfer

When a twelve-year-old evil genius tries to restore his family fortune by capturing a fairy and demanding a ransom in gold, the fairies fight back with magic, technology, and a particularly nasty troll. First book in series - Artemis FowlEoin Colfer

Little Brother / Cory Doctorow

After being interrogated for days by the Department of Homeland Security in the aftermath of a major terrorist attack on San Francisco, California, seventeen-year-old Marcus, released into what is now a police state, decides to use his expertise in computer hacking to set things right. Followup - Homeland

Michael Vey series / Richard Paul Evans

To everyone at Meridian High School, Michael Vey is an ordinary fourteen-year-old. In fact, the only thing that seems to set him apart is the fact that he has Tourette’s syndrome. But Michael is anything but ordinary. Michael has special powers. Electric powers. First book in series - Michael Vey: the prisoner of cell 25

Incarceron / Catherine Fisher

Only a two book series, but oh so worth it!  Claudia on the outside and Finn on the inside have no idea what they're dealing with, or how to get in . . .  or out.  See if you can figure it out before they do!  First book in series - Incarceron / by Catherine Fisher

Hunger Games trilogy / Suzanne Collins

The series everyone's talking about!  First book in series - The hunger games by Suzanne Collins

Black Hole Sun / David Macinnes Gill

Durango and his band of mercenaries fight their way through cannibalistic aliens, flying bullets & exploding bombs, all with the help of Mimi, Durango’s sarcastic nano brain implant.  Thrilling! First book in series - Black Hole Sun / David Macinnes Gill

Max Gordon / David Gilman

After an assassin bursts from the shadows to try to kill him on the grounds of his boarding school in England, Max Gordon realizes his life is about to change forever, in this first novel in a supercharged adventure series. First book in series - The devil's breath by David Gilman

Gone series / Michael Grant

Everyone over the age of 15 disappears. It's a terrifying new world. Sides are being chosen and war is imminent.  Ellen's vote for a top ten YA series!  First book in series - Gone / by Michael Grant

Alex Van Helsing / Jason Henderson

At a boarding school in Switzerland, Alex Van Helsing learns that vampires are real, that he has a natural ability to sense them, and that an agency called the Polidorium has been helping his family fight them since 1821. First book in series - Vampire rising / by Jason Henderson

Enemy series / Charles Higson

After a disease turns everyone over sixteen into brainless, decomposing, flesh-eating creatures, a group of teenagers leave their shelter and set out of a harrowing journey across London to the safe haven of Buckingham Palace. First book in series - The enemy / Charlie Higson

Young Bond series / Charles Higson

See James Bond before he was 007.  First book in series - SilverFin : a James Bond adventure / Charlie Higson 

Insignia / S.J. Kincaid

Tom, a fourteen-year-old genius at virtual reality games, is recruited by the United States military to begin training at the Pentagon Spire as a combatant in World War III, controlling the mechanized drones that do the actual fighting off-planet. First book in series - Insignia / S.J. Kincaid

C.H.A.O.S. Trilogy / Jon  S. Lewis

After the mysterious death of his parents, surfer Colt is forced into a secret world of aliens, shapeshifters, flying motorcycles, and invisible getaways. The invasion has begun.  He didn't ask to be a hero, but now all that stands between us and chaos . . . is Colt.  First book in series - Invasion / Jon S. Lewis

Rot & Ruin / Jonathan Maberry

In the zombie-infested, post-apocalyptic America where Benny Imura lives, every teenager must find a job by the time they turn fifteen.  He expects a tedious job whacking zoms for cash - whoops!  First book in series - Rot & Ruin / Jonathan Maberry

Morpheus Road trilogy / D.J. Machale

Sixteen-year-old Marshall Seaver is expecting a boring summer when his best friend goes away, but instead he finds himself haunted--and hunted--by ghosts that want something from him which he cannot decipher. First book in series - Morpheus Road. The light / D.J. MacHale

Pendragon series / D. J. MacHale

Bobby Pendragon is a seemingly normal and somewhat reluctant 14- year-old boy who is swept into an amazing five-year quest. First book in series - The merchant of death / by D.J. MacHale

Watts Family Adventure seres / Andy McNab

Danny's grandfather was a Deniable Operator before he was betrayed, imprisoned, and falsely denounced as a traitor. Now  the real traitor is determined to silence both of them, permanently.  First book in series - Traitor / Andy McNab and Robert Rigby

Cherub series / Robert Muchamore

Not just one teenage spy, but a whole branch of the British secret service which recruits orphans and trains them as intelligence officers.  First book in the series - The recruitRobert Muchamore

Chaos Walking trilogy / Patrick Ness

Ever since the settlers were infected with the Noise germ, Todd can hear everything the village men think. He knows that the town is hiding something from him -- something so awful Todd has to run for his life.  First book in series - The knife of never letting go / Patrick Ness

Maximum Ride series / James Patterson

Max leads her feisty "family" on a journey of action, adventure, and soul-seeking in this #1 "New York Times" bestselling series. First book in series - The angel experiment / James Patterson

Dark Eyes series / William Richter

Like Anthony Horowitz, author Richter is also a screenwriter, and it shows, especially in the excellent action sequences of this gritty NYC-based thriller.  First book in series - Dark Eyes / William Richter

Percy Jackson series / Rick Riordan

Percy Jackson discovers he's a demigod, the son of a mortal woman and one of the Olympian gods.  Now he's thrown into the middle of an age old battle between truly powerful forces.  Thank goodness he's got an awesome weapon!  First book in series - The lightning thief / Rick Riordan

Cirque du Freak series / Darren Shan

Darren Shan gets tickets to the Cirque Du Freak, a gothic freak show with weird, frightening half human/half animals including a truly terrifying spider-thing.  And then he meets Mr. Crespley who makes the spider seem like a pussy cat.  First book in series - Cirque du Freak / by Darren Shan

Escape from the Furnace series / Alexander Gordon Smith

Convicted of a murder he didn’t commit, sentenced to life without parole, Alex Sawyer knows he has two choices: find a way out, or resign himself to a death behind bars.   Except in Furnace, death is the least of his worries.  First book in series - Lockdown : escape from Furnace / Alexander Gordon Smith

STORM : the Infinity Code / by E.L. Young

In London, the teenaged geniuses of STORM, a secret organization dedicated to eliminating the world's misery through science and technology, uncover plans for a deadly weapon and race to find and dismantle it, then confront the corrupt scientist behind the scheme.

Dustlands trilogy / Moira Young

Saba's brother Lugh is captured and she has to track him down in a brutal, windswept world.  Teamed up with a handsome daredevil named Jack, Saba stages a showdown that will change the course of her own civilization. First book in series - Blood red road / Moira Young