Holiday books 2013

45 pounds (more or less) / K.A. Barron

Ann Galardi is 16 and a size 17. Her mother is a perfect size 6.  So Ann makes up her mind — time to lose 45 pounds (more or less).  Welcome to the world of informercial diet plans, endless run-ins with the cutest guy Ann's ever seen, and some surprises about her not-so-perfect mother.  And one more thing? It's really all about feeling comfortable in your own skin--no matter how you add it up.

All the Truth That's in Me / Julie Berry

Four years ago, Judith and her best friend disappeared. Two years later, only Judith       returned, unable to speak.  Living like a ghost in her own home, she silently pours out her thoughts to the boy who's owned her heart as long as she can remember. But when their town is attacked, Judith is forced to choose: continue to live in silence or recover her voice, even if it means changing her world forever.

The Reluctant Assassin / Eoin Colfer

The first book in a new series by the creator of the international best seller  Artemis Fowl series is a high-stakes, high-tech pursuit through time. Think "Oliver Twist" meets "The Matrix"!

The Eye of Minds / James Dashner

From the author of the super popular Maze Runner series, comes an all-new, edge-of-your seat adventure. The Eye of Minds is the first book in The     Mortality Doctrine, a series set in a world of hyper technology, cyberterrorists, and gaming beyond your wildest dreams . . . and your worst nightmares.

Wild Cards / Simone Elkeles

After getting kicked out of boarding school, bad boy Derek moves with his ditzy stepmother to Illinois where he meets Ashtyn, an aspiring kicker on her high school football team. Ashtyn wants nothing to do with him, until she comes up with a plan to achieve her dream of playing football in college, but it means trusting Derek--someone she barely knows, someone born to break the rules. Is she willing to put her heart on the line to try and get the future she wants, and can Derek allow himself to care when it really counts?

Inhuman / Kat Falls

Lane leaves her life of privilege to  journey beyond the wall to find her  father, who leads a secret life as a "fetch", a forbidden relic hunter. Aiding her are Everson, the straight-arrow military boy, and Rafe, the feral boy who knows more about her father (and Lane) than he initially lets on.

Foul Trouble / John Feinstein

John Feinstein has been praised as "the best writer of sports books in America today" (Boston Globe), and he proves it again in this fast-paced novel.  Terrell Jamerson is the #1 high school basketball player in the country. Top colleges are lining up to give him scholarships, and everyone says he could play in the NBA tomorrow. But it only takes one false step to lose everything.

Reality Boy / A.S. King

In this fearless portrayal of a boy on the edge, highly acclaimed Printz Honor  author A.S. King (Please Ignore Vera Dietz) explores the desperate reality of a former child TV star struggling to break free of his anger.

Living with Jackie Chan / Jo Knowles

After fathering a baby, teenager Josh moves in with his karate-loving uncle and tries to come to terms with his guilt.  He can’t forget the night that changed his life forever, but maybe with the help of karate and Stella, the girl upstairs he can somehow forgive himself.

Champion / Marie Lu

The explosive finale to Marie Lu's bestselling Legend trilogy (Legend, Prodigy)--perfect for fans of The Hunger Games.

He is a Legend.

She is a Prodigy.
Who will be Champion?

A top reading choice from Chenery 7th & 8th grade summer readers!!

More Than This / Patrick Ness

From two-time Carnegie Medal winner Patrick Ness comes an enthralling and provocative new novel chronicling the life -- or perhaps afterlife -- of a teen trapped in a crumbling, abandoned world.

Allegiant / Veronica Roth

What if your whole world was a lie? What if a single revelation--like a single choice--changed everything? What if love and loyalty made you do things you never expected? The explosive conclusion to Veronica Roth's #1 New York Times bestselling Divergent trilogy (Divergent, Insurgent) reveals the   secrets of the dystopian world that has captivated millions of readers.

Fangirl / Rainbow Rowell

Feeling left out when her twin sister wants to party at college rather than hang out with her fan fiction obsessed sister, Cath strikes out on her own aided by a snarky roommate, her charming boyfriend, and her love for the epic Harry Potter-inspired Simon Snow series.

Librarian favorite!

Steelheart / Brandon Sanderson

An action-packed thrill ride that will leave readers breathless — at age eight, David watched as his father was killed by an Epic, a human with superhuman powers. Now, 10 years later, he joins the Reckoners, people who are trying to kill the Epics and end their tyranny.

Are You Experienced / Jordan Sonnenblick

Rich sneaks into his dad’s office and breaks into a locked cabinet that holds his dad's prized possession: an electric guitar signed by Jimi Hendrix. Before he knows it, Rich is transported to the side of a road in Upstate New York with a beautiful girl bending over him. It will take him a while to realize it's 1969, he's at Woodstock, and the girl's band of friends includes his fifteen-year-old dad and his uncle, who's still alive.

The Raven Boys

Dream Thieves / Maggie Stiefvater

Books 1 & 2 of an intriguing series by NY Times favorite YA writer Maggie Stiefvater — the inevitability of death and the nature of love lead readers to a place they've never been before.  Though she is from a family of clairvoyants, Blue's only gift seems to be that she makes other people's talents stronger, and when she meets Gansey, one of the Raven Boys from the expensive Aglionby Academy, she discovers that he has talents of his own--and that together their talents are a dangerous mix.

The 5th Wave / Rick Yancey

After the 1st wave, only darkness     remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one. But   Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up.

Boxers & Saints / Gene Luen Yang

Boxers & Saints is an innovative graphic novel in two volumes - the parallel   stories of two young people caught up on opposite sides of a violent rift. "American Born Chinese" author Yang brings his clear-eyed storytelling and trademark magical realism to the    complexities of the Boxer Rebellion and lays bare the foundations of extremism, rebellion, and faith.

Steve Jobs: the man who thought different / Karen Blumenthal

Critically acclaimed author Blumenthal takes us to the core of this complicated and legendary man while simultaneously      exploring the evolution of computers. Framed by Jobs' inspirational Stanford  commencement speech and illustrated throughout with black and white photos, this is the story of the man who changed our world.

Outcasts United: the story of a refugee soccer team that changed a town / Warren St. John

This is the inspirational story about the Fugees, a youth  soccer team made up of     refugees from around the world, and their formidable female coach, Luma Mufleh.

Super Scratch programming adventure: learn to program by making cool games! / the LEAD Project

Learn programming fundamentals by   making your very own playable video games. Create projects inspired by classic arcade games that can be programmed (and played!) in an afternoon. Patient, step-by-step explanations of the code and fun programming challenges will have everyone making their own games in no time!

The Nazi Hunters: how a team of spies and survivors captured the world's most notorious Nazi / Neal Bascomb

This account of the search for a Nazi    criminal led by Holocaust survivor Simon Wiesenthal is a thrilling spy mission, a moving Holocaust story, and a first-class work of narrative history.